A Letter To Aai

Dear Aai

Today is Mother’s Day. It’s your day. So I thought of taking up this chance, to write a nice long letter to you. I know you prefer the handwritten ones, but just this one time I hope you’ll understand.

So first off, Happy Mother’s Day!!!! 🙂

There are so many things I want to say to you, that I don’t know what to begin with.

I want to thank you for bringing me into this world. For looking after me right from the time I was in your womb and loving me even then. I know I have not exactly been this adorable sweet kid always. I have had my fair share of mischief ( I can see your eyebrows go up when you read fair, ok we’ll settle at a little more than fair) and I have made life miserable for you every once in a while. But you’ve still stood by me, punishing me at times, scolding me and sometimes being my “Partner In Crime”, especially when it comes to teaming up against Baba.

I still remember how I used to throw all my dolls and utensils down from our fourth floor apartment and you had to run down to fetch them. I also recall troubling you when it came to eating my food.  When I think of it now, I can imagine how difficult it must have been for you to discipline me. But you still managed and I want to thank you for being patient with me always.

You know when I was little and they taught me in school that our mother is our first Guru, at that point of time, I did not understand the magnitude of the sentence, but today I truly know what it means. You have been, are and will continue to be my Guru in more ways than I can ever write. You have taught me so much over the past 21 years that I have lost count. All I can say to you is that every day that I spend with you I become more indebted to you. The truth is I can’t ever pay you back for everything you do for me.

You are my first role model, in my eyes you can never do anything wrong, because you are my hero. You know me and how my dreams change every day, even though I am pursuing a career right now, I still dream of stuff like little kids – I want to be a hotelier one day, a CFO on another day, then a writer, then a pet resort owner and yes so far the wildest one, living on a boat forever doing nothing. But there is one dream that has never changed in all these years and that is to be at least half the gem of a person that you are. And this I believe is the toughest one. I don’t know how much time it might take to get there, but I will achieve it. The problem on hand though is that you keep getting better every day and raise the bar higher!!!

I want to thank you for instilling so many good values in me. For teaching me what is right and what is wrong. Helping me out when it came to making the not-so-easy decisions in life. I don’t know when exactly you taught me this but it must have been long long ago, you taught me to value people over money, books over all other fancy stuff, need over luxury, truth over easy lies, courage over cowardice and the purity of the soul over just good looks. You taught me to always stand up for what is right even if it meant standing alone. You asked me to work hard but that work is not life. You encouraged me when everybody else underestimated me and you were the one who said, there is so much potential inside you that if you even work through half of it you will be super successful. Thank you for all of it.

But I have a few things I need to tell you. No, I don’t worry I don’t have stuff I want to crib about. These are things which you don’t think of seriously and even if you do, they never get implanted. I want you to sing more often. You have a beautiful voice (EVERYBODY knows that!!!). So please, please, please for my sake at least, sing more.

Let’s go out more, may it be for movies, dinners, shopping, anything – just let’s go out more!!

Read more. You love to read I know that. But you never seem to find the time. Do that. Do what you love. You have been living for others for such a long time, that you’ve forgotten to do stuff for yourself.

And most importantly, breathe, relax. It’s ok if we don’t get our dinner at exactly 9 or it’s ok if the living room is messed up. It’s ok if you forgot to do something in office. Learn to relax no matter what. You are at the end of the day a human being and it’s pretty natural to go wrong once in a while.

Even after writing so much, I still have so many unsaid thoughts. But that’s alright, I shall write them to you on your birthday. Till then, all I want to say is that I love you and I thank God every day for giving me a mother who is an angel, a friend, a Guru and yes a fantastic mother!!!

Lots of love

Apoorva

Note: In my mothertongue (marathi) Aai means mother and Baba means father. Just thought you guys should know!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Letter To Aai

  1. May I simply just say what a comfort to uncover somebody that genuinely understands what they’re talking about over the internet. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you’re not more popular given that you most certainly have the gift.

Say it out LOUD!!! :)

